Andorra: a megalith-free zone?   3 comments

We visit Andorra 3-4 times a year to see friends in Arinsal and walk the mountains. Since our friends are not as ‘stone mad’ as me, I have so far not suggested we go hunting for megaliths. But last weekend I persuaded them that it might be interesting to go looking for dolmens and menhirs – and so I checked on the Megalithic Portal map – where I found a big blank space – not a single mention! I thought I must have made some mistake, so I began searching the Net – but the only information I found was on the blogs of David Gálvez Casellas and Jordi Casamajor. And the news was not good : there are, it seems, no megaliths in Andorra.
David is a teacher and journalist, and Jordi a sculptor and graphic artist, whose interest in rock carvings has taken him all over the Pyrennees. His blog documents his researches, which reveal that while Andorra may be poor in dolmens and menhirs – it is rich in cupulas and carvings, from the late Neolithic up to recent centuries.
David leaves us with tantalising possibilities : there is documented evidence of at least one standing stone – carved subsequently with a St. Christoper figure – but mysteriously removed in the late ’70’s. There are slabbed stone stuctures which may be dolmens, though not in any ‘classic’ form – and there are the suggestive remains of groups of stones, which may simply be accidents of nature.
He acknowledges the impact that the construction of modern Andorra has had on elements of the old ways. I also suspect that the Catholic church may well have been determined to erase as much of the ‘pagan’ past as possible. I would be interested to discuss other theories as to why there are megaliths in all the surrounding areas of this region – like the harrespil (basque cromlechs) – but none in Andorra itself.

Research by archaeologists seems to show that during the Chalcolithic/Early Bronze age, dolmens and grottoes were linked in the funerary practices here in the Languedoc/Catalunya region. The grotto was a place of primary inhumation, open to the elements and to animals. When the bones had lost their flesh, they were transferred to the dolmen and sealed in. Dolmens were built a short walk from grottos and could be part of a ‘religion’ that saw both as some sort of ‘womb’ of  ‘Mother Nature’ – places to which the dead should be returned.
Frequently, springs are found in the same immediate area, thus forming a three-part system: springs and ‘holy wells’ are life-sustaining elements vital to these small communities, while the need to satisfy the requirements of the dead were provided by the grottos and the dolmens. Of course this is pure speculation – by me and a few others.
Thus, if one has located some important and significant spring or well (often ‘taken over’ by the Church) then there may be also a grotto or cave nearby – and near to that again, a dolmen.
The dolmens in our region nearly all point south-east, south, or south-west, and they are all on a high place, looking out over a valley or plain – but they are rarely on the very top of a hill.
With these three elements in mind, I will be back next spring with map and compass and hope – and I might just meet up with these keen searchers on the mountain-slopes.

Note: David’s blog does describe his visit to the cist-graves discovered in 1991 at Juberri, known as La Feixa del Moro ( The Moor’s Table).

feixa-del-moro1

Feixa del Moro at Juberri in Andorra. Photo David Galvez Casellas

‘Following the excavation there was an attempt – perhaps incomplete, but very laudable – at a reconstruction of the environment and that there were replanted many species of flora that had been documented as growing in the area 5,000 years ago . The sense was that of being in a beautiful place, almost untouched, with echoes of the sacred. At our first sighting of the first cista : prominent, well-kept, very well built, amazing.’ (Trans. Google and me).

He is careful to distinguish between the prehistoric, and the megalithic. It would be interesting to know the dimensions of these burial stones and their orientation.

Feixa del Moro. Une tombe néolithique en ciste dans le domaine archéologique d’Andorre.

CANTURRI P. ; LLOVERA X. ;

La première sépulture néolithique découverte en Andorre, attribuable au Néolithique moyen-récent de Catalogne. Type 3 des “Sépulcros de fosa”, faciès des cistes, apparenté au Solsonien.

3 responses to “Andorra: a megalith-free zone?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I stumbled upon your page and found it very interesting. If you ever wished to talk about any aspects of the articles I’ve already published or any other, do not hesitate in contacting me: galvezcasellas@gmail.com. You’ll find the complete series of articles on the strange void of megaliths in Andorra (with the relevant quotes, references, some images and bibliography) in the upcoming issue of “Papers de Recerca Històrica” (number 5). It should be out next month. I’m presently working on a book on this issue (connecting it to etymology, legens, myths, religion, rock carvings, toponomy, etc.).

    Cheers!

    David Gálvez Casellas
  2. I’ve just published the complete article I told you about the other day (I still need to do some extra editing, for the footnote numbers seem to have disapeared). I published it on my blog thinking of you, because I do not really think that such a long and winding article (an expansion of the series you already know) will be eaten by the standard reader of my blog. As I say, I’ll try to work on the notes whenever.

    David Gálvez Casellas
  3. I finally removed the article because I realised it really didn’t fit in with the rest of stuff I had been publishing there. If you’re interested, just let me know and I’ll sent it to you straight to your email box.

    David Gálvez Casellas

Leave a Reply

